Moscow Matrix

Template für MoSCoW-Matrix

Gruppiere zu erbringende Leistungen in einer Matrix, um ihre Bedeutung für die Projekte deines Teams zu verstehen.

Über das MoSCoW-Matrix-Template

Wenn du an einem Projekt mit vielen zu erbringenden Leistungen arbeitest, kann es schwierig sein, die Prioritäten im Auge zu behalten. Während Fristen immer näher rücken, können sich vorrangige Ziele bisweilen verschieben, was deinen Arbeitsablauf noch komplizierter macht. Wie kannst du den Überblick über sich ändernde Prioritäten behalten und dich dennoch auf ein komplexes Projekt konzentrieren?

Lies weiter, um mehr über die MoSCoW-Methode zu erfahren.

Was ist die MoSCoW-Methode?

Die MoSCoW-Methode ist eine leistungsstarke Technik für die Nachverfolgung von Prioritäten, die kategorisiert und in einem Matrixmodell angeordnet werden. Projektmanager, Produktentwickler und Wirtschaftsanalysten nutzen die Matrix, um ihre Teams bei der Ausarbeitung der für ein Projekt zu erbringenden Leistungen abzustimmen. Teams arbeiten gemeinsam mit Stakeholdern daran, die Bedeutung dieser Leistungen mithilfe der MoSCoW-Methode zu analysieren und nach Wichtigkeit anzuordnen, was es einfacher macht, den Überblick zu behalten.

MoSCoW ist ein Akronym für Must Have (muss vorhanden sein), Should Have (sollte vorhanden sein), Could Have (kann optional vorhanden sein) und Won’t Have (wird nicht vorhanden sein). Diese vier Prioritätskategorien bilden die vier Segmente der Matrix. „Must Have“-Komponenten sind für die Lieferung erforderlich. „Should Have“-Komponenten sind wichtig, aber nicht unbedingt notwendig. „Could Have“-Komponenten sind optional (sie haben keine Priorität, aber dein Team kann daran arbeiten, insofern ausreichend Zeit und Ressourcen vorhanden sind). „Won’t Have“-Komponenten passen nicht in den aktuellen Projektumfang. Für die MoSCoW-Methode erstellst du für diese Kategorien vier Segmente und zeigst dort deine aktuellen Prioritäten und ihren Status an (erledigt, in Bearbeitung oder noch nicht begonnen).

Wann wird die MoSCoW-Methode verwendet?

Die MoSCoW-Methode ist nützlich, wenn du geschäftliche Anforderungen präsentieren, Prioritäten bewerten oder mit einer Gruppe von Stakeholdern an den zu erbringenden Leistungen zusammenarbeiten musst. Durch das Erstellen und Aktualisieren der Matrix erhältst du in jeder Phase eines Projekts eine Momentaufnahme deiner Prioritäten und ihrer Auswirkungen. Mit MoSCoW bleibt jeder in deinem Team einfach über künftige Aufgaben und deren Auswirkungen auf den Zeitplan informiert.

Erstellen einer eigenen MoSCoW-Matrix

Die Ausarbeitung einer eigenen MoSCoW-Matrix ist einfach. Das Whiteboard von Miro ist die perfekte Leinwand, um deine eigene Matrix zu erstellen und mit anderen zu teilen. Beginne mit der Template-Auswahl und führe dann die folgenden Schritte aus, um die Matrix zu erstellen.

  1. Trage deine „Must Have“-Komponenten ein. Die MoSCoW-Matrix ist in vier Kategorien unterteilt. Die erste Kategorie enthält die „Must Have“-Komponenten, also die Elemente, die für den Abschluss deines Projekts notwendig sind. Wenn du nicht sicher bist, ob eine Aufgabe dieser Kategorie zugeordnet werden sollte, stelle dir die folgenden Fragen: Wenn du diese Aufgabe nicht abschließt, wird dein Produkt oder dein Service dennoch wie beabsichtigt funktionieren? Kannst du das Produkt auch ohne diese Komponente liefern? Kannst du mit dieser Aufgabe alle gesetzlichen Vorgaben für dein Projekt erfüllen? Wird dein Produkt oder dein Service ohne diese Komponente sicher sein? Wird es für deinen Kunden Konsequenzen haben, wenn du diese Aufgabe nicht abschließt?

  2. Trage deine „Should Have“-Komponenten ein. Beschäftige dich als Nächstes mit den Komponenten, die für die Umsetzung deines Projekts nicht notwendig, aber für seinen Erfolg dennoch von Bedeutung sind. Denke daran, dass die Komponenten in dieser Kategorie nicht entscheidend sind, aber du trotzdem versuchen solltest, sie in deinen Zeitplan aufzunehmen. Wenn du nicht sicher bist, stelle dir die folgenden Fragen: Selbst wenn es ärgerlich ist, diese Aufgabe nicht abzuschließen, könntest du das Produkt auch ohne sie ausliefern? Könntest du eine Behelfslösung verwenden, um diese Aufgabe zu vermeiden?

  3. Trage deine „Could Have“-Komponenten ein. Viele Teams bezeichnen diese Komponenten als „nice to have“, also „nette Erweiterung“. Während sie dazu beitragen, dass ein Service flüssiger abläuft oder ein Produkt besser aussieht, sind sie nicht wichtig. Wenn du ausreichend Zeit und Ressourcen hast, um sie am Ende umzusetzen, dann mach das. Andernfalls kannst du sie auch für später einplanen. Wenn du diesen Teil der Matrix ausfüllst, stelle dir die folgenden Fragen: Welche Vorteile haben diese Aufgaben? Wiegen sie die Kosten auf? Wie werden sich diese Aufgaben auf unseren Zeitplan auswirken? Können wir das Projekt im vorgesehenen Zeit- und Budgetrahmen abschließen, auch wenn wir diese Aufgaben aufnehmen?

  4. Trage deine „Won’t Have“-Komponenten ein. Diese Komponenten befinden sich außerhalb deines aktuellen Projektumfangs. Möglicherweise lassen sie sich nicht innerhalb des vorgesehenen Budgets oder Zeitplans umsetzen. Wenn du nicht sicher bist, ob eine Komponente zu dieser Kategorie gehört, stelle dir die folgenden Fragen: Wie wirkt sich diese Komponente auf unser Budget aus? Hat unser Team die Kapazität, um diese Aufgabe umzusetzen? Wird diese Komponente spürbare Auswirkungen auf unseren Kunden haben? Niemand gibt gerne zu, dass er etwas nicht abschließen kann, aber du solltest „Won’t Have“-Komponenten nicht als Fehlschläge betrachten, sondern vielmehr als Projekte für die Zukunft.

FAQs zum MoSCow Template

Was sind die Vorteile der MoSCow-Methode?

Der Hauptvorteil der MoSCoW-Methode besteht darin, dass sie schnell und einfach anzuwenden ist. Die Technik ist gut geeignet, um die Prioritäten der laufenden Projekte hervorzuheben und ein effizientes Zeitmanagement zu organisieren.

Wie verwendet man die MoSCoW-Vorlage?

Die MoSCoW-Abkürzung (mit Ausnahme der o's) ist mit den Anfangsbuchstaben der Prioritätskategorien versehen, mit denen sie arbeitet. Diese sind Must-haves, Should-haves, Could-haves und Won't-haves. Und so kannst du definieren, welche Aufgabe in welche Kategorie fällt.

Template für MoSCoW-Matrix

Beginne jetzt mit diesem Template

Verwandte Templates
Bulls Eye Thumbnail
Vorschau
Bull’s-Eye-Template (Dartpfeil-Template)
creative-brief-thumb-web
Vorschau
Creative Brief Template
Ideas Parking Lot Matrix Thumbnail
Vorschau
Ideen-Parkplatzmatrix-Template
mitch-laceys-estimation-game-thumb-web
Vorschau
Template für das Estimation-Game von Mitch Lacey
likert-scale-thumb-web
Vorschau
Likert-Skala-Template
ansoff-matrix-thumb-web
Vorschau
Das Ansoff-Matrix-Template

Moscow Matrix

MoSCoW Matrix Template

Use the MoSCow Method to efficiently place deliverables in a matrix to understand their importance to your team’s projects.

About the MoSCoW Matrix Template

When you’re working on a project with a lot of deliverables, it can be difficult to track priorities. And as deadlines approach, sometimes priorities can shift, further complicating your workflow. How can you keep track of evolving priorities and still focus on a complex project? 

Keep reading to learn more about the MoSCoW method.

What is the MoSCoW method

The MoSCoW method is a powerful technique for tracking priorities, which are categorized and placed in a matrix model. Project managers, product developers, and business analysts use the matrix to align their teams when working through a set of project deliverables. Teams collaborate with stakeholders  to analyze and rank the importance of deliverables with MoSCoW, making it easier to stay on track. 

MoSCoW is an acronym for Must Have, Should Have, Could Have, and Won’t Have. These four priority categories make up the four segments in the matrix. “Must Have” items are necessary for delivery; “Should Have” items are important but not necessary; “Could Have” items are nice to have (they are not priorities, but your team can work on them if time and resources permit); and “Won’t Have” items do not fit into the scope of the current project. To use MoSCoW, you create four category segments showing your current priorities and their status (Complete, In Progress, or Not Yet Started). 

When to use the MoSCoW method

The MoSCoW method is useful whenever you need to present business needs to an audience, assess priorities, and collaborate on impending deliverables with a group of stakeholders. By drawing and updating the matrix, you can get a snapshot of your priorities and their impact at each stage of a project. MoSCoW allows everyone on your team to easily grasp upcoming tasks and their impact on your timeline.

Create your own MoSCoW matrix

Making your own MoSCoW matrix is easy. Miro’s whiteboard tool is the perfect canvas to create and share it. Get started by selecting the MoSCoW Matrix Template, then take the following steps to make one of your own.

  1. Fill in your Must Haves. The MoSCoW matrix is divided into four categories. The first is Must Haves, the items that are necessary for completion of your project. If you’re unsure whether a task is a Must Have, ask yourself the following questions: If you do not complete this task, will your product or service work as intended? Can you still deliver the product without this item? Does this task allow you to fulfill all legal requirements for your project? Will your product or service be safe without it? Will your customer suffer consequences if you fail to complete this task?

  2. Fill in your Should Haves. Next, move on to the items that are not necessary to complete your project but are still important for success. Remember, the items in this category are not vital, but you should try and incorporate them into your timeline anyway. If you’re unsure, ask yourself: Although it might be painful not to complete this task, could you still ship the product without it? Can you use a workaround to avoid this task?

  3. Fill in your Could Haves. Many teams colloquially refer to these items as “nice-to-haves.” While they might make the service run more smoothly, or make your product look better, these tasks are not important. If you have the time or resources to complete them at the end, then you can do so. If not, you can plan to do them later. To fill out this part of the matrix, ask yourself the following questions: What are the benefits of these tasks? Do they outweigh the costs? How will these tasks impact our timeline? Can we still complete the project on time and within budget if we include these tasks?

  4. Fill out your Won’t Haves. These items are outside the scope of your current project. Maybe you don’t have the budget to complete them, or maybe they don’t fit into your timeline. If you’re not quite sure whether something is a Won’t Have, ask yourself: How does this item impact our budget? Does our team have the bandwidth to complete this task? Will this item have a tangible impact on our customer? No one likes to admit that they can’t complete something, but don’t think of Won’t Haves as failures; they’re projects for another day.

MoSCow Matrix FAQs

How do you use the MoSCow Template?

The MoSCoW abbreviation (except for the o's) is carved with first letters of the priority categories it works with. These are Must-haves, Should-haves, Could-haves and Won't-haves. And that's how you can define which task falls into which category.

What are the benefits of using the MoSCow Method?

The key benefits of the MoSCoW technique is that it is quick and easy to use. The technique is good in highlighting the priorities of projects that are in progress and for organising efficient time management.

MoSCoW Matrix Template

Get started with this template right now.

Related Templates
Balanced Scorecard Thumbnail
Preview

Balanced Scorecard Template

Works best for:

Operations, Strategic Planning, Project Planning

Balanced scorecards are useful tools for understanding business performance at a glance with regard to customers, employees, business processes, and financial progress. Learn more about BSCs and create your own using Miro’s Balanced Scorecard template.

Balanced Scorecard Template
pestle-analysis-thumb-web
Preview

PESTLE Analysis Template

Works best for:

Ideation, Strategic Planning, Business Management

Want to keep your company secure and performing soundly? You have to first know how you’ll be affected by outside elements and factors — especially those that are political, economic, social, technological, legal and environmental in nature. A PESTLE Analysis helps you identify them and prepare for them. With this easy-to-use template, you can conduct a PESTLE Analysis, then use the results to shape your strategic planning, budget allocation, marketing, product updates, and organizational change initiatives.

PESTLE Analysis Template
safe-roam-board-thumb-web
Preview

SAFe Roam Board

Works best for:

Agile Methodology, Operations, Agile Workflows

A SAFe ROAM Board is a framework for making risks visible. It gives you and your team a shared space to notice and highlight risks, so they don’t get ignored. The ROAM Board helps everyone consider the likelihood and impact of risks, and decide which risks are low priority versus high priority. The underlying principles of SAFe (Scaled Agile Framework) are: drive cost-effective solutions, apply systems thinking, assume that things will change, build incrementally, base milestones on evaluating working systems, and visualize and limit works in progress.

SAFe Roam Board
four-actions-framework-thumb-web
Preview

Blue Ocean 4 Actions Framework Template

Works best for:

Leadership, Decision Making, Strategic Planning

For entrepreneurs, so much comes down to new users—how to attract them, impress them, and convert them to loyal customers. This template, designed by the authors of Blue Ocean Strategy: How to Create Uncontested Market Space and Make the Competition Irrelevant, will help you maximize value for you and your customers alike. Using the template’s four steps (divided into easy columns), you’ll easily evaluate your products in more innovative ways and make sure money is being spent in areas that really matter.

Blue Ocean 4 Actions Framework Template
Research Design Thumbnail
Preview

Design Research Template

Works best for:

UX Design, Design Thinking, Desk Research

A design research map is a grid framework showing the relationship between two key intersections in research methodologies: mindset and approach. Design research maps encourage your team or clients to develop new business strategies using generative design thinking. Originally designed by academic Liz Sanders, the framework is meant to resolve confusion or overlap between research and design methods. Whether your team is in problem-solving or problem space definition mode, using a research design template can help you consider the collective value of many unrelated practices.

Design Research Template
lovebomb-thumb-web
Preview

Love Bomb Icebreaker Template

Works best for:

Icebreakers

Encourage team members to show their appreciation for each other using Miro’s free Love Bomb Icebreaker Template. Participants can add words or phrases that show what they appreciate about their colleagues.

Love Bomb Icebreaker Template