Design Brief

Das Design-Brief-Template

Identifiziere die Wettbewerbslandschaft und das Verhältnis deines Unternehmens dazu.

Über das Design Brief Template

Was ist ein Design Brief?

Ein Designbrief fungiert als Brücke zwischen einem Unternehmen und einer Designagentur. Das Dokument ermöglicht es Unternehmen, seine Anforderungen und Wünsche einer Designagentur oder einem Team zu kommunizieren. Wenn ein Unternehmen eine Designagentur anstellt, schreibt üblicherweise jemand aus dem Marketingteam den Design Brief. Ein umfassender Design Brief dient zur Orientierung während des Designprozesses. Es kommuniziert, was der Designer tun muss, und erläutert etwaige Einschränkungen.

So verwendest du das Design Brief Template

Unternehmen haben in der Regel zahlreiche Interaktionen mit Designagenturen. Vielleicht hast du eine Designagentur angeheuert, um deine Website oder eine Landingpage zu erstellen. Oder vielleicht hast du sie für ein Rebranding deiner Website oder Marketingmaterialien engagiert. Unabhängig von der Größe des Projekts brauchst du einen detaillierten Marketingplan, um effektiv mit der Agentur zusammenzuarbeiten.

Schritt 1: Beginne mit der Besprechung deiner Ziele. Was soll die Designagentur erreichen? Soll sie deine Website neugestalten oder ein neues Logo entwerfen? Weißt du genau, wie deine Website aussehen soll, oder soll deine Agentur etwas Recherche betreiben und dir Ideen präsentieren? Lege all diese Informationen offen, damit deine Agentur den Grundstein für das Projekt legen kann.

Schritt 2: Gib deiner Agentur ein Budget und eine Timeline. Designagenturen haben oft viele Projekte auf einmal. Um sicherzustellen, dass sie das Projekt rechtzeitig und deinen Wünschen entsprechend abschließen, gib ihnen eine realistische Schätzung deiner Ressourcen und zeitlichen Beschränkung. Willst du deine Website vor einer Konferenz veröffentlichen? Möchtest du eine Landingpage für eine Produkteinführung erstellen? Hast du ein begrenztes Budget? Lass es deine Agentur wissen.

Dieser Teil des Design Briefs bietet einen Anhaltspunkt für ein Gespräch mit der Agentur. Wenn deine Timeline oder dein Budget nicht realistisch sind, kann dir die Agentur rechtzeitig Bescheid geben, damit du Ausweichplan erstellen kannst. Wenn dein Budget zu hoch oder das Projekt einfacher ist als erwartet, könntest du Zeit und Geld einsparen. Aber deine Agentur kann diese Gespräche nicht mit dir führen, wenn dein Brief diese Informationen nicht enthält.

Schritt 3: Beschreibe deine Zielgruppe. Dein Designteam wird je nach Zielgruppe unterschiedliche Entscheidungen treffen. Zum Beispiel wird eine Website für Gymnasiasten anders aussehen als eine Website für CISOs. Wenn du nicht sicher bist, wer deine Zielgruppe ist, beschreibe deinen idealen Kunden. Es könnte helfen, deine Konkurrenten aufzuführen, damit die Agentur recherchieren kann.

Schritt 4: Lege den Umfang des Projekts fest. Um mit dir zusammenzuarbeiten, braucht das Designteam klare Rahmenbedingungen. Willst du ein spezielles Logo oder soll die Agentur ein bestehendes Template oder Design anpassen? Willst du einen Online-Store mit allem Drum und Dran, oder soll deine Website einfach nur Informationen zu deinem Produkt enthalten?

Während du den Umfang definierst, denk auch an Networking-Funktionen und Blog-Integrationen. Das ist deine Chance, ein ganzheitliches Erlebnis für deine Kunden oder deine Zielgruppe zu schaffen. Beschreibe dieses Erlebnis im Design Brief.

Schritt 5: Zeig ihnen, welche Materialien ihnen zur Verfügung stehen. Vielleicht hast du bereits einen Vorrat an Stockfotos, die du für deine Online-Inhalte verwendest. Hast du bereits ein Logo, eine Broschüre oder Fotos von deinem Produkt? Biete der Designagentur Einblick in diese Materialien, damit sie ein Verständnis für die Ästhetik deines Unternehmens bekommt.

Schritt 6: Erstelle einen Styleguide. Der Styleguide erzählt eine Geschichte, aber mit Bildern anstatt mit Text. Es kann nützlich sein, der Designagentur Beispiele von Websites zu geben, die vom Stil her für deine Zielgruppe ansprechend sind. Teile der Agentur mit, welche Farben dir gefallen und welche Stimmung du deiner Zielgruppe vermitteln möchtest. Beschreibe die Adjektive und Emotionen, die deine Kunden mit deiner Marke assoziieren sollen.

Schritt 7: Liste No-gos auf. Gibt es bestimmte Funktionen, die deine Website nicht haben soll, Farben oder Schriftarten, die du nicht magst, oder Layouts, die nicht für dein Produkt geeignet sind? Wenn ja, schreib es in den Design Brief.

Warum solltest du einen Design Brief verfassen?

Ein Design Brief sorgt für eine effektive Zusammenarbeit zwischen deinem Unternehmen und deiner Designagentur. Wenn du oder dein Unternehmen mit einer Designagentur für ein Projekt zusammenarbeitet, unabhängig von dessen Umfang, musst du einen Design Brief schreiben. Dein Design Brief bietet der Agentur Anhaltspunkte, damit sie dein Projekt schnell, rechtzeitig und deinen Wünschen entsprechend fertigstellen kann. Kurz gesagt kann ein guter Design Brief dir und der Agentur Zeit und Geld sparen.

Wann solltest du ein Design Brief Template verwenden?

Verwende das Design Brief Template immer dann, wenn du einen Design Brief für ein neues Projekt erstellst. Du kannst das Template verwenden, um den Umfang deines Projekts, deine budgetären und zeitlichen Beschränkungen sowie deinen bevorzugten Stil darzulegen.

Warum ist ein Design Brief wichtig?

Der Design Brief ist die Grundlage jedes kreativen Projekts. Ein umfassender Design Brief kann als Geschäftsplan und Quelle der Wahrheit dienen. Während des gesamten Projekts kann sich dein Unternehmen und die Agentur auf den Brief beziehen, um sicherzustellen, dass alle auf dem richtigen Weg sind, das Budget nicht überschritten und das Projekt rechtzeitig fertiggestellt wird.

FAQ about the design brief template

Why write a Design Brief?

Writing a design brief will ensure an effective partnership between your business and your design agency. If you or your business is working with a design agency on any project, regardless of size, then you need to write a design brief. The design brief allows you to provide guidance to the agency so they deliver your project quickly, on time, and according to your specifications. In short, a good design brief can save you and the agency time and money.

When to use the Design Brief template?

Use the Design Brief template any time you’re creating a design brief for a new project. You can use the template to outline the scope of your project, your budget and time constraints, and your preferred style.

Why is the Design Brief important?

The design brief is the foundation of any creative project. A comprehensive design brief can serve as a business plan and source of truth. Throughout the project, your business and the agency can reference the brief to ensure everyone is on track, within budget, and delivering according to your timeline.

Das Design-Brief-Template

Beginne jetzt mit diesem Template

Verwandte Templates
research-topic-brainstorm-thumb-web
Vorschau
Template zur Findung deines Forschungsthemas
Job Map Thumbnail
Vorschau
Job-Map-Template
Buyer Persona Thumbnail
Vorschau
Das Buyer-Persona-Template
Workflow Thumbnail
Vorschau
Workflow-Template
meeting-organizer-thumb-web (1)
Vorschau
Meeting-Organisationsvorlage
Storyboard Thumbnail
Vorschau
Storyboard-Template

Design Brief

Design Brief Template

A Design Brief acts as a bridge between a business and a design agency. Use this template to identify the competitive landscape and your company’s relation to it.

Trusted by 65M+ users and leading companies

walt disney
asos
contentful
ubisoft
pepsico
macys
whirlpool
hanes
yamaha
docusign
liberty mutual
wp engine
accenture
bumble
delloite
hewlett packard
total
dropbox
walt disney
asos
contentful
ubisoft
pepsico
macys
whirlpool
hanes
yamaha
docusign
walt disney
asos
contentful
ubisoft
pepsico
macys
whirlpool
hanes
yamaha
docusign
liberty mutual
wp engine
accenture
bumble
delloite
hewlett packard
total
dropbox
walt disney
asos
contentful
ubisoft
pepsico
macys
whirlpool
hanes
yamaha
docusign

About the Design Brief template

What is a Design Brief?

A design brief acts as a bridge between a business and a design agency. The document allows businesses to communicate their needs and desires to a design agency or team. When a business decides to hire a design agency, someone on the marketing team will typically write the design brief. A comprehensive design brief helps guide the design process, communicating what the designer needs to do and elaborating on any constraints.

How to use the Design Brief template

Businesses can expect to have numerous interactions with design agencies. Maybe you have hired a design agency to create your website, or build a landing page. Or maybe you have hired them to completely rebrand your site and marketing materials. Regardless of the project’s size, you will need a detailed marketing plan to work effectively with the agency.

Step 1: Start by discussing your goals. What do you want the design agency accomplish? Do you want them to overhaul your website, or design a new logo? Do you know exactly how you want your site to look, or do you want your agency to do some research and present their ideas? Be upfront about all of this information so your agency can start building a foundation for the project.

Step 2: Give your agency a budget and timeline. Design agencies are often juggling many projects at once. To ensure they complete the project on time and according to your preferences, give them a realistic estimate of your resources and time constraints. Are you looking to launch your website before a conference? Are you trying to create a landing page in time for a product launch? Do you have a limited budget to work with? Let your agency know.

This part of the design brief opens a doorway for a conversation with the agency. If your timeline or budget is unrealistic, then they can tell you about it in time for you to make a contingency plan. If your budget is too high or the project is easier than you anticipated, then you can end up saving some time or money. But your agency cannot have these conversations with you if you do not include the information in the brief!

Step 3: Include your target audience. Your design team is going to make different choices depending on the audience you want to reach. For example, a website designed for high schoolers is going to look a lot different from a website designed for CISOs. If you are not sure about your audience, explain who your ideal customer is. It might help to reference your competitors so the agency can do some research.

Step 4: Lay out the scope of the project. To partner with you, the design team needs clear parameters. Do you want a custom logo, or do you want the agency to adapt an existing template or design? Do you want an online store complete with a shopping cart, or do you just want a brochure site with information about your product? 

While you’re defining the scope, think about social networking features and blog integration too. This is your chance to create a holistic experience for your customers, audience, or clients. Draw out this experience in the design brief.

 Step 5: Show them what materials are available to them. Maybe you already have a bank of stock photos you’re using for your online content, or maybe you have a logo, a brochure, or photos of your product. Giving the design agency a glimpse at these materials can help them gain insight into your company’s aesthetic.

Step 6: Create a style guide. The style guide is like your narrative voice -- but instead of text, your medium is visual. It can be useful to give the design agency examples of websites with styles that speak to your audience. Tell them what color palettes you like and what kind of ambiance you want your audience to experience. Describe the adjectives and emotions you want your customers to associate with your brand.

Step 7: Enumerate a list of do-nots. If there are certain features you do not want on your site, colors or fonts you do not like, or layouts that are ill-suited to your product, then put that in the design brief.

FAQ about the design brief template

Why write a Design Brief?

Writing a design brief will ensure an effective partnership between your business and your design agency. If you or your business is working with a design agency on any project, regardless of size, then you need to write a design brief. The design brief allows you to provide guidance to the agency so they deliver your project quickly, on time, and according to your specifications. In short, a good design brief can save you and the agency time and money.

When to use the Design Brief template?

Use the Design Brief template any time you’re creating a design brief for a new project. You can use the template to outline the scope of your project, your budget and time constraints, and your preferred style.

Why is the Design Brief important?

The design brief is the foundation of any creative project. A comprehensive design brief can serve as a business plan and source of truth. Throughout the project, your business and the agency can reference the brief to ensure everyone is on track, within budget, and delivering according to your timeline.

Design Brief Template

Get started with this template right now.

Related Templates
The Ultimate Storyboarding Template thumb
Preview
The Ultimate Storyboarding Template
editorial-calendar-thumb-web
Preview
Editorial Calendar Template
Co-design Storyboard template thumb
Preview
Co-design Storyboard
Presentation Thumbnail
Preview
Presentation Template
Empathy Mapping Atlassian template thumb
Preview
Empathy Mapping by Atlassian
Market Segmentation Matrix Thumbnail
Preview
Market Segmentation Matrix Template