Card Sorting-preview

Card Sorting Template

Entdecke die gedanklichen Modelle der Benutzer, um eine Informationsarchitektur zu erstellen.

Über das Card Sorting Template

Die Kartensortierung ist eine Benutzertesttechnik, die UX-Teams dabei hilft zu entscheiden, wie die Informationsarchitektur (IA) einer Website oder App strukturiert werden soll.

Teams können diese Technik nutzen, um festzustellen, wie viel Benutzer bereits über Ihr Produkt oder Ihre Dienstleistung wissen. Die Kartensortierung zeigt auch die gedanklichen Modelle auf und skizziert darauf aufbauend die beste Art und Weise, die Informationsarchitektur zu organisieren.

In einem Workshop zum Sortieren von Karten ordnet jeder Teilnehmer (stellvertretend für den Benutzer) Themen in Kategorien ein und hilft Ihnen, diese Gruppen zu beschriften. Am Ende des Seminars werden Sie mehr darüber erfahren, wie Sie die Erwartungen Ihrer Benutzer erfüllen und ihnen im Idealfall helfen, schnell zu finden, was sie brauchen, und eine reibungslose Erfahrung bei der Navigation durch Ihre Website oder App haben.

Lese weiter, um mehr über Kartensortierung zu erfahren.

Was ist Kartensortierung bzw. Card Sorting

Kartensortierung umfasst die Erstellung einer Reihe von Karten, die jeweils ein Konzept oder ein Element darstellen. Beim Sortieren ordnen die Workshop-Teilnehmer (die Ihrem idealen Kunden oder Ihrer Zielpersona entsprechen) die Karten in einer für sie sinnvollen Weise an.

Normalerweise werden die Karten während einer Workshop-Sitzung auf eine von drei Arten sortiert:

Offene Kartensortierung: Die Teilnehmer sortieren die Karten in ihre eigenen Kategorien und beschriften diese selbst. Dies ist ein generativer Ansatz und hilft UX-Teams, Folgendes zu lernen:

  • Wie Kunden Ihre Daten verstehen und analysieren

  • Wo Menschen erwarten, Informationen zu finden, wenn sie auf bestimmte Bereiche Ihrer Website klicken.

  • Wie du neue Ideen für die Strukturierung und Beschriftung deiner Website-Informationen entwickelst

  • Ob die Website mehrere Benutzergruppen hat, die auf verschiedene Weise über die Daten nachdenken

Geschlossene Kartensortierung: Die Teilnehmer sortieren die Karten in Kategorien, die du vorgibst. Dies ist ein evaluativer Ansatz, um zu sehen, wie Kunden Informationen basierend auf einem gegebenen Rahmen organisieren, und hilft UX-Teams Folgendes zu lernen:

  • Ob man sich darüber einig ist, wo Ihre Informationen am besten in den vorhandenen Kategorien zu finden sind

  • Spezifische unklare oder irreführende Kategoriebezeichnungen, die behoben werden müssen

  • Wie du die Anzahl der Kategorien reduzierst, die du hast, basierend auf Kategorien, die ignoriert wurden.

Hybride Kartensortierung: Die Teilnehmer haben die Möglichkeit, entweder neue Kategorien zu erstellen, um Ihre Kartensortierung zu vervollständigen (ein offener Ansatz), oder die Karten nur in die von dir vorgegebenen Kategorien zu sortieren, wobei die Wahrscheinlichkeit geringer ist, dass sie ihre eigenen Beschriftungen vornehmen (ein geschlossener Ansatz). Dieser gemischte Ansatz kann zu mehr Offenheit oder mehr Geschlossenheit neigen und hilft UX-Teams folgendes zu lernen:

  • Wie du Ideen für die Gruppierung von Informationen findest

  • Kategorien, die nach einer offenen Kartensortierung eine hohe Übereinstimmung aufweisen, aber klarer definierte Kartengruppierungen benötigen

Wann Kartensortierung verwendet werden sollte

Die Durchführung einer Workshops mit Card Sorting ermöglicht dem UX-Team Folgendes:

  • Entscheidung über die Struktur für die Informationsarchitektur einer neuen oder bestehenden Website

  • Ermitteln der richtigen Sprache, um die Navigation benutzerfreundlich zu gestalten

  • Gruppierung der Inhalte (oder Produkte und Dienstleistungen) auf eine Weise, die für die Benutzer sinnvoll ist

  • Vergleiche, wie verschiedene Kunden oder Benutzergruppen Konzepte in Bezug auf deine Produkte und Dienstleistungen verstehen

  • Ermittele eine schnelle, kosteneffiziente Technik zum Sammeln und Präsentieren echter Daten über die Ziele der Anwender, die den Geschäftsanforderungen am meisten nützen.

Sobald du neue Erkenntnisse darüber gewonnen hast, wie Kunden durch deine Website oder App navigieren, kannst du diese Daten nutzen, um eine neue, verbesserte Informationsarchitektur zu entwickeln.

Erstelle deine eigene Sitzung zum Sortieren von Karten

Die Einrichtung deiner eigenen Workshops zur Kartensortierung ist einfach. Das Whiteboard von Miro ist das perfekte Tool, um sie zu erstellen und mit anderen zu teilen. Wähle zunächst die Vorlage für ein Card Sorting Template aus und führe dann die folgenden Schritte aus, um ein eigenes zu erstellen.

  1. Wähle deine eigenen Themen zur Kartensortierung. Du kannst das Standard-Kartenset, einschließlich Text und Bilder, bearbeiten, um es an die Informationsarchitektur deiner Website oder App anzupassen. Strebe 30-60 Karten pro Sitzung an. Nur die relevantesten Karten werden in Gruppen sortiert. Wenn mehr Karten für die Teilnehmer zur Auswahl stehen, solltest du am Ende genügend Daten haben, um gut strukturierte Entscheidungen zu treffen.

  2. Erkläre, nach welcher Methode die Karten sortiert werden sollen. Bevorzugst du ein offenes, geschlossenes oder hybrides Card Sorting ? Editiere die Anweisungen, um den Teilnehmern Ihre Erwartungen mitzuteilen oder führe einen Videoanruf direkt in Miro durch, um die Übung vor dem Start durchzusprechen.

  3. Bitte deine Teilnehmer, Themen in Gruppen zu organisieren. Die Teilnehmer können so die Informationsarchitektur deines Produkts oder deiner Dienstleistung verstehen. Wir empfehlen diese Übung mit dem Countdown Timer von Miro zu terminieren. Strebe Sie 15-20 Minuten an. Füge weitere fünf Minuten hinzu, wenn du die Zeitsortierung nach 20 Minuten nicht abgeschlossen hast.

  4. Bitte deine Teilnehmer, Gruppen zu nennen. Nachdem alle Karten gruppiert sind, bitte die Teilnehmer, den Gruppierungen neue Gruppenbezeichnungen zu geben. Bei offenen oder hybriden Kartensortierungen wird dadurch das geistige Modell des Teilnehmers aufgedeckt. Es ist sehr unwahrscheinlich, dass sie Label erstellen, die perfekt mit dem Marketing oder Branding deines Produkts übereinstimmen – behandele sie also stattdessen als Inspirationsquelle.

  5. Führe eine Nachbesprechung mit deinen Teilnehmern durch. Bitte den Nutzer in einem weiteren Videoanruf (oder Chat, falls gewünscht), die Gründe für seine Entscheidungen bei der Kartensortierung zu erläutern. Welche Karten waren einfacher oder schwieriger zu sortieren? Gab es Karten, die zu zwei oder mehr Kategorien gehörten? Gibt es irgendwelche Gedanken oder Überlegungen zu Artikeln, die unsortiert bleiben (oder in der Kategorie „nicht sicher“ abgelegt werden)?

  6. Bitte deine Teilnehmer bei Bedarf um eine kleinere Gruppengröße. Wenn dir eine Gruppe nach der Nachbesprechung zu groß oder zu klein erscheint, bitte die Teilnehmer, sich neu zu sortieren. Große Gruppen können sich in Unterkategorien verwandeln oder Unterkategorien können sich in größere Gruppen verwandeln. Es geht dabei weniger darum, das Denken des Teilnehmers zu beeinflussen, als vielmehr darum, mögliche neue Gruppierungsoptionen zu erschließen.

  7. Wiederhole den Prozess nach Bedarf mit bis zu 20 Teilnehmern. Suche gerade so viele Teilnehmer, dass du gute Stichprobendaten erhältst. Sitzungen zum Kartensortieren werden am besten mit jeweils einem Teilnehmer durchgeführt, mindestens 15 bis 20 Mal. Halte nach Mustern Ausschau und verwandele diese in Erkenntnisse über die gedanklichen Modelle deiner Nutzer, um zu entscheiden, wie du die Informationsarchitektur deiner Website oder App angehst.

FAQ about card sorting

Wie sortiert man Karten online?

Viele UX-Forscher verwenden Online-Kartensortierungssitzungen, da dies ein praktischer und schneller Weg ist, um Benutzerforschung in entfernten und gemischten Teams durchzuführen. Um eine Online-Kartensortiersitzung durchzuführen, öffne deine Vorlage, füge deine Karten hinzu und lade die Teilnehmer ein, mit dem Sortieren zu beginnen. Du kannst Online-Notizzettel verwenden, um die Anweisungen an dem Board zu verdeutlichen, Kommentare hinzuzufügen oder jeden Teamkollegen oder Teilnehmer zu markieren. Vergiss nicht, den Timer einzustellen, damit die Teilnehmer wissen, wie viel Zeit sie zum Sortieren der Karten haben. Analysierenach dem Sortieren der Karten die Daten und teilen deine Erkenntnisse mit deinem Team.

Wie präsentierst du die Ergebnisse der Kartensortierung?

Du kannst deine Ergebnisse der Kartensortierung mit einer der vorgefertigten Präsentationsvorlagen von Miro präsentieren. UX-Forscher präsentieren ihre Ergebnisse oft, indem sie einen vollständigen Bericht über die Methodik erstellen, in dem sie die gängigen Kartenkategorien, den Prozentsatz der in verschiedene Kategorien sortierten Karten sowie mögliche Richtungen und Erkenntnisse aus den Vor- und Nachbefragungen angeben.

Card Sorting Template

Beginne jetzt mit diesem Template

Verwandte Templates
Buyer Persona Thumbnail
Vorschau
Das Buyer-Persona-Template
euler diagram template
Vorschau
Euler Diagramm Template
Floor Plan Thumbnail
Vorschau
Grundriss-Template
5 Whys Thumbnail
Vorschau
Template für die 5-Why-Methode („5 Warums“)
Agile-roadmap-thumb-web
Vorschau
Agile Roadmap Template
Johari Window Thumbnail
Vorschau
Johari-Fenster Template

Card Sorting-previewCard Sorting-preview

Card Sorting Template

Discover users’ mental models to make information architecture improvements

About the Card Sorting Template

Card sorting is a user testing technique that helps UX teams decide how to structure a website or app's information architecture (IA). 

Teams can use this technique to figure out how much users already know about your product or service. Card sorting also reveals their mental models and, based on these, outlines the best way to organize information architecture. 

In a card sorting workshop session, each participant (representing your user) organizes topics into categories, and helps you label these groups. By the end of the session, you’ll learn more about how to meet your users’ expectations, and ideally, help them quickly find what they need and have a frictionless experience when navigating through your website or app.

Keep reading to learn more about card sorting.

What is Card Sorting

Card sorting involves creating a set of cards, each representing a concept or item.  The sorting process has workshop participants (matching your ideal customer or target persona) group the cards in a way that makes sense to them. 

Typically, cards get sorted one of three ways during a workshop session: 

Open card sort: Participants sort cards into their own categories, and label those categories themselves. This is a generative approach and helps UX teams learn:

  • How customers understand and analyze your information

  • Where people expect to find information when they click on your website

  • How to brainstorm new ideas for structuring and labeling your website information

  • Whether your site has multiple user groups that think in different ways about your information

Closed card sort: Participants sort cards into categories you give them. This is an evaluative approach, to see how customers organize information based on a given framework, and helps UX teams learn:

  • Whether people agree on where your information is best found in existing categories

  • Specific unclear or misleading category labels that need fixing

  • How to reduce the number of categories you have, based on categories that were ignored

Hybrid card sort: Participants can either create new categories to complete your card sort (an open approach), or sort cards only into your categories, less likely to make their own labels (a closed approach). This mixed approach can lean toward more open or more closed, and helps UX teams learn:

  • How to generate ideas for grouping information based on inspiring participants with a given category pattern 

  • Categories that have high agreement after an open card sort, but need more clearly defined card groupings

When to use Card Sorting

Running a card sorting workshop session enables your UX team to:

  • Decide on structure for the information architecture of a new or existing website

  • Find the right language to make your navigation user-friendly

  • Group your content (or products and services) in a way that makes sense to your users

  • Compare how different customers or user groups understand concepts related to your products and services

  • Find a quick, cost-effective technique for collecting and presenting real data on user goals that most benefits business needs

Once you’ve found new insights into how customers navigate your website or app, you can use this data to develop a new, improved information architecture. 

Create your own Card Sorting session

Making your own card sorting workshops is easy. Miro’s whiteboard tool is the perfect canvas to create and share them. Get started by selecting the Card Sorting Template, then take the following steps to make one of your own.

  1. Choose your sorting card topics. You can edit the default card set, including text and images, to suit your website or app’s information architecture. Aim for 30-60 cards per single session. Only the most relevant cards will end up sorted into groups. With more cards for participants to choose from, you should end up with enough data to make well-informed decisions.

  2. Explain what card sorting method you’d like users to follow. Do you prefer an open, closed, or hybrid card sort? Edit the instructions to tell participants your expectations or hop on a video call directly in Miro to talk through the exercise before starting. 

  3. Invite your participant to organize topics into groups. Now they can start making sense of your product or service’s information architecture. We recommend timing this exercise with Miro’s Countdown Timer. Aim for 15-20 minutes. Add an extra five minutes if they haven’t completed the timed sort after 20 minutes. 

  4. Ask your participant to name groups. After all the cards are grouped, ask the participant to give groupings new group label names. During open or hybrid card sorts, this will reveal the participant’s mental model. It’s unlikely they’ll create labels that perfectly align with your product’s marketing or branding – so treat it instead like a source of inspiration.

  5. Debrief with your participant. Hop on another video call (or chat, if preferred) and ask the user to explain the rationale behind their card sorting decisions. Which cards were easier or more difficult to sort? Did any cards seem to belong to two or more categories? Any thoughts about items left unsorted (or placed in the “not sure” category)?

  6. Consider asking your participant for smaller group sizes if needed. If any groups appear too big or small after debriefing, ask the participant to try resorting. Large groups can turn into subcategories or subcategories can turn into larger groups. This is less about influencing the participant’s thinking than about tapping into any potential new grouping options.

  7. Repeat the process as needed with up to 20 participants. Try to find just enough participants to give you good sample data. Card sorting sessions are best done with one participant at a time, at least 15 to 20 times. Look for patterns, and turn them into insights about your users’ mental models to decide how to approach your website or app’s information architecture.

Card Sorting Template

Get started with this template right now. It’s free

Related Templates
Work Breakdown ThumbnailWork Breakdown Thumbnail
PreviewMore info

Work Breakdown Structure

A work breakdown is a project management tool that lays out everything you must accomplish to complete a project. It organizes these tasks into multiple levels and displays each element graphically. Creating a work breakdown is a deliverable-based approach, meaning you’ll end up with a detailed project plan of the deliverables you must create to finish the job. Create a Work Breakdown Structure when you need to deconstruct your team's work into smaller, well-defined elements to make it more manageable.

Work Breakdown Structure
design-sprint-kit-thumb-webdesign-sprint-kit-thumb-web
PreviewMore info

Design Sprint Kit

With the right focused and strategic approach, five days is all it takes to address your biggest product challenges. That’s the thinking behind Design Sprint methodology. Created by Tanya Junell of Blue Label Labs, this Design Sprint Kit provides a set of lightweight templates that support the Design Sprint’s collaborative activities and voting—and maintains the energy, team spirit, and momentum that was sparked in the session. Virtual sprint supplies and prepared whiteboards make this kit especially useful for remote Design Sprint Facilitators.

Design Sprint Kit
3×3 Prioritization Method-thumb-web3×3 Prioritization Method-thumb-web
PreviewMore info

3x3 Prioritization Method

It’s all about assessing a task or idea, and quickly deciding the effort it will take and the potential impact it will have—ranked low, medium, or high. That’s what the 3x3 prioritization method does: Help teams prioritize and identify quick wins, big projects, filler tasks, or time-wasters. With nine bucket areas, it offers slightly greater detail than the 2x2 Prioritization Matrix (or Lean Prioritization Method). It’s easy to make your own 3x3 prioritization matrix—then use it to determine what activities or ideas to focus on with your valuable resources.

3x3 Prioritization Method
Opportunity Canvas ThumbnailOpportunity Canvas Thumbnail
PreviewMore info

Opportunity Canvas

Features and capabilities — they make or break a product, which is why companies spend so much time and effort focusing on them. Sound like you? Try it with an Opportunity Canvas. This streamlined one-pager gives you and your team the power to improve your product by exploring the use cases, potential setbacks, strategies, challenges, and metrics. An Opportunity Canvas is ideal if you’ve already built a product, because you don’t need to consider the operational or revenue model.

Opportunity Canvas
growth-experiments-thumb-webgrowth-experiments-thumb-web
PreviewMore info

Growth Experiments

Many ambitious companies are eying the future and aiming to grow. But growth decisions can be leaps of faith that are risky and costly. That’s why growth experiments make so much sense. They offer a systematic six-step method that reveals which strategies are most effective, how they’ll affect your revenue, and how they compare to your past approaches. By helping you test out your strategies for scaling your business before you fully commit, growth experiments can save you serious time, resources, and money.

Growth Experiments
SAFe ThumbnailSAFe Thumbnail
PreviewMore info

SAFe Program

Many organizations use the Agile model, but even companies that don’t rigorously adhere to all Agile standards have adopted Agile tools and methods like Program Increment (PI) Planning. Even if you’re not participating in a formal PI session, a program board can be a great way to establish communication across teams and stakeholders, align development objectives with business goals, clarify dependencies, and foster cross-functional collaboration. The board provides much-needed structure to planning sessions, yet is adaptable enough to accommodate brainstorming and alignment meetings.

SAFe Program